Chasin' Racin'
Home About Services Events



11th Annual Performance Auto Minnesota Modified Nationals to Pay $11K to Win

For Immediate Release – St Cloud, Minnesota – January 30th, 2015

One of the country’s biggest open wheel Modified events just got bigger! The FYE Motorsports promoted Minnesota Modified Nationals has a few exciting changes in store for the 2015 event and promoter Chris Stepan is beyond excited to announce that the 11th running of the mega-event will pay $11,000 to the winner of the 70-lap Modified feature on Sunday, July 5th, 2015.

The event, which enters its 11th season, has been held at the Viking Speedway in Alexandria, Minnesota each of the previous 10 seasons and will continue to be hosted at the Central Minnesota facility in 2015. The event will once again be run under the WISSOTA banner and will pay a WISSOTA-record $11,000 to win and $700 just to start the feature event. An open practice session will be held on Friday, July 3rd from 6p-9p with heat races and a qualifying feature on Saturday, July 4th and b-mains, $1,000 to win a non-qualifier feature and the $11,000 to win / 70-lap finale on Sunday, July 5th.

Stepan said ‘with the success of our 10th anniversary event last year paying a then WISSOTA-record $10,001 to win, we wanted to keep the interest at an all-time high for this event, so we decided to pay $11,000 to win this year since it’s the 11th annual event. The World 100, one of dirt Late Model’s biggest events, increases its winners share by $1,000 each year, so why not apply that same thinking to the Modifieds?’

The event has also picked up a presenting sponsor for the 2015 season as Allstate Peterbilt Group has come on board to support the event along with title sponsor Performance Auto. Fargo, North Dakota based Performance Auto returns for the third year as the event’s title sponsor and with Allstate Peterbilt’s assistance as well, the event is able to continue to grow into one of the nation’s premier open wheel event year after year.

The Minnesota Modified Nationals has never seen a repeat winner in its 10 year history. Stepan went on to say ‘the staggering fact that no one has ever won this event twice goes to show the incredible talent pool that we draw for this show each and every year. 10 years with 10 different winners is just incredible and we couldn’t be happier to be able to host this large scale event so that our local and regional Modified drivers have a huge paycheck available for them during the mid-point of the season.’

One other change that fans and drivers will notice is that the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds will continue to race for their typical $500 to win payout on Saturday, July 4th, but instead of racing for $500 to win on Sunday, the Midwest Modifieds will run for $1,100 to win, sticking with the 11th annual theme of the weekend. Again Stepan said ‘we’ve had great support from the Midwest Modifieds over the first 10 years of this event, so this is our way to show our appreciation to them for always coming out with big numbers and putting on great shows at the Mod Nationals.’

WISSOTA Super Stocks will also be on the schedule, but in a change from recent years, the Super Stocks will only run one night – Saturday, July 4th – and will run for their typical $500 to win payout. Stepan commented ‘we love having the Super Stocks a part of this event, but last year on the second day the car count dropped drastically plus we want to ensure we have enough time to get all of the racing action completed before the city mandated curfew, so the decision was made to run three classes on Saturday night and just the two on Sunday night.’

For more information, ticket prices, race times, event format and entry forms, please log on to or call Chris at (715) 497-8916. We hope to see you at the Performance Auto Minnesota Modified Nationals presented by Allstate Peterbilt Group on July 3rd, 4th and 5th, 2015.


Granite City Speedway to Host Inaugural $6,500 to win FYE Dirt Track Nationals
August 6th, 7th & 8th

For Immediate Release – Las Cruces, New Mexico– March 3rd, 2015

4St. Cloud, Minnesota based FYE Motorsports Promotions will add another mega-event to its schedule of promotions during the course of the 2015 racing season with the addition of this all open-wheel event.

The inaugural FYE Dirt Track Nationals will be held on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, August 6th, 7th and 8th 2015 and will feature three complete $1,000 to win programs for WISSOTA Modifieds and three separate $500 to win shows for the WISSOTA Mod Fours but the weekend headliner will be a 65-lap, $6,500 to win spectacular for the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds!

The host site for the Dirt Track Nationals will be the all new Granite City Speedway in Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, just outside of the St. Cloud, MN metro area, which is entering its four year of operation heading into 2015.

FYE Motorsports Promotions owner Chris Stepan said ‘There are a lot of high paying Late Model and Modified events across WISSOTA-country and the Little Dream has turned into an incredible event for the Street Stocks, so we wanted to do something for the Midwest Modifieds. The Midwest Mods put on some of the best racing night in and night out all season long and there are so many racers in the upper Midwest that deserve a shot at a huge payday and some fame for winning an event like this. Plus, there are getting to be a lot of B-mod type events in other parts of the country, so why not have one here for our WISSOTA guys and gals?’

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified division will run complete qualifying events (heat races, b-mains and a qualifying feature on Thursday and Friday nights respectively with the top 6 finishers each night being locked into the Saturday finale. The rest of the field will be split up into an alphabet soup of c and b mains, which will be run on Saturday, along with a last chance race, to fill the remaining starting spots in the championship night feature event, which will pay a whopping $600 just to take the green flag.

Passing points will be utilized to determine starting positions in each night’s b-main and a-main events.

Stepan also said ‘We decided to put this event together and chose Granite City as the host location because of its central location, great facility and open wheel fan base. The owners of Granite City have worked tirelessly over the three seasons that the track has been open to continue to improve the facility and we felt that it was time to host a multi-day event of this magnitude. Working with several other area tracks who have offered to take off that weekend, it was the perfect weekend to hold the Dirt Track Nationals. KRA Speedway in Willmar runs on Wednesday night that week during their fair; Princeton Speedway is off that weekend because of their fair and Ogilvie Raceway is taking that weekend off for our event, so we hope that the new Dirt Track Nationals draws a large contingent of racers and fans alike.’

More details will become available in coming weeks but for more information, ticket prices, race times, event format, pre entry information and entry forms, please log on to or call Chris at (715) 497-8916.

We hope to see you at the inaugural Dirt Track Nationals on August 6th, 7th and 8th, 2015.